Audio File Editor edit commands
The Audio File Editor includes several standard audio editing and processing commands and functions.
When you have selected an area of an audio file, you can use the Cut, Copy, Paste, and Delete commands in the Edit menu to cut, copy, paste, or remove the selected area.
Edit menu commands
Cut: Cuts a selected passage out of an audio file, and copies it to the Clipboard. All audio sections that follow move forward—toward the start point of the audio file—to fill the gap.
Copy: Copies a selected passage to the Clipboard, leaving the selected area in its original location. Unlike the other Edit menu commands, the Copy command is nondestructive.
Paste: Inserts the contents of the Clipboard at the clicked position. All audio data that follows the paste (insert) point is moved back—toward the end of the audio file—to make room for the Clipboard contents.
WARNING: Anything selected at the time of the paste is deleted—replaced by the Clipboard contents.
Delete: Erases the selection, without placing it in the Clipboard. A gap is left in the audio file.
Delete and Move: Erases the selection, without placing it in the Clipboard. All data beyond the deleted passage is moved forward—toward the start point of the audio file—to fill the gap.
Most audio editing and processing activities in the Audio File Editor are destructive. Destructive activities modify the data of the original audio file, rather than make changes to playback parameters. You can, however, use the Undo feature (see Undo edit steps).
Tip: Although you can undo edits and processing commands, you should work with copies of your audio files, rather than the originals. For details about creating and restoring backups in the Audio File Editor, see Perform manual backups.
You can use key commands to perform destructive sample editing functions. When doing so, you will be asked to confirm your actions before making any changes and overwriting the original audio file. You can bypass this safety feature.
Turn off the key command warning
Choose Preferences > Audio > Audio File Editor, then deselect the “Warning before processing function by key command” checkbox.